body

Friday, 6 October 2017

How to Stop seeing friend update on Facebook without Unfriending



Many a time some friend update are usually annoying and unfriending them become difficult due to the relationship and the embarrassment it will cause to the third party. Just one week after publishing how to block someone on facebook, someone writes on the comment asking me, “What can I do if I don’t want to see someone’s updates on Facebook, without unfriend or block them?”

I know base on the experience many people on Facebook have such a friend, relative, in-law or even family members that usually post wild stuff on facebook which sometimes is unpleasant to your liking. Blocking or unfriend such a friend may be difficult considering the relationship.

In today post I will be sharing with you how to stop seeing annoying friend update on Facebook without necessary unfriending or blocking them.


Logically, it will sound as if you have unfriended the person but not. It's a two-step process. First, you will prevent their updates from showing up on your news feed (that is the first page you see when you first log into Facebook). Then, you may also want to stop them from seeing your updates, it up to you.

Please note: This tutorial will be base on the mobile phone because the majority of Facebook user today make use of their mobile device more often than the computer version. However, I will be updating this post on how you can do it on the Facebook web version ( computer).

There are  two ways to accomplish this:
  1. The first and the easiest is to add the person (the one you don't want to see is update) to your Acquaintances list. If you are not familiar with acquaintances list on facebook keep reading.
  2. The second method is to un-follow the person and then add them to your Restricted list.  Read on if you’d like to try this method.

Prevent a friend’s updates from showing up on your Facebook Feed:

Facebook Mobile App:

1. Search for the person on your friend list and go to the friend’s timeline page by clicking on their name.  The “Following” button will be checked, as shown, meaning that you currently follow the person (i.e. you see their updates on your News Feed).



2. Click the “Following” button to unfollow them.  The button will change to the word “Follow”.


Mobile:
1.  In the Facebook app, first, go to your profile and click on friends, Now search the name of the friend you want to unfollow. You will be on the friend's timeline.  Click the “Friends” button and you’ll see the following choices appear: Unfriend, Unfollow, or Edit Friends Lists.  Click “Unfollow”.



If done properly you should no longer see this friend’s updates on your News Feed whenever you log in to your Facebook account.  However, You can still see their updates if you visit their profile/timeline page.  This has changed from the previous instructions where you could pick and choose the types of updates you wanted to see.

Now that you have limited what you’ll see this person, you can also limit what they will see about you.
Are you a friend or family member how is eager to make a silly comment about every post you make on Facebook or make a joke on all your post?. apart from unfollowing of a friend on Facebook, you can still Restrict friend from seeing your post whenever you post a new update to your timeline.

How to Restrict friend from seeing your post on Facebook without unfriending them.

Facebook social media provide you with few built-in “Lists” for categorizing your friends just as you may do with your contact on your phonebook.You can use these lists to control who see or you share your post.  Facebook has "Close friend", "Good friend", "Acquaintance" and on the more, you have “Restricted list”.  Whenever you add a friend of your “Restricted” list they will only be able to see your “Public content or posts of yours that you tag them in”.  let me give some example:
  • Share an update with “Friends”, people in your “Restricted” list won’t see it.
  • Share an update with “Everyone”, people in your “Restricted list will see it.
  • Tag your friend in an update, they will see it even if they are in your “Restricted” list.
If you are on Desktop:
Hover over the Friend Name click on the Friends button Now choose “Add to another list”. the screenshot is given below


Select “Restricted”.
If this person was in another list, select that list to un-check and remove them from the list.


If you are on Facebook Mobile App:
Click on the “Friends” button again.  This time choose “Edit Friend Lists”.





You’ll see some possible lists – I have several custom lists, your screen might look a bit different.  Scroll down and select “Restricted”.

If this person was in another list, select that list to un-check and remove them from the list.

You test your new settings if all the adjustment you make is working.  Go to your profile, click the little gear button and choose “View as”.  Then enter that person’s name to get a sense of what your now-Restricted friend will see about you.  (Learn more about Viewing your Facebook Timeline as someone else)


If you have any Question or sugestion feel free to drop it in the comment below. thansks.
Post a Comment
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...